Student Volunteers - Stage - Umrinder, Gurjinder(Mobile - 9914996719), Registration - Ashu(Mobile - 9815448984), Balraj(Mobile - 872758771), Transport - Pushpinder(Mobile - 9417045151), Gurparkash (Mobile - 9814860229), Food Committee - Lovepreet(Mobile - 9592400116), Jaspreet (Mobile - 9803335164) Accommodation - Jaskirat(Mobile - 9914119612), Deepak(Mobile - 9988042901), Stall - Kushal(Mobile - 9780904404), Karambir(Mobile - 9465542909)
Patron Dr. Jaspal Singh Vice Chancellor
Chairperson Dr. Rajesh Kumar Bawa Head of Department
Convenor Dr. Gurpreet Singh Lehal Professor
Co-Convenor Dr. Chandan Singh Professor
Organizing Secretary Dr. Dharam Veer Sharma
Dr. Vishal Goyal
Dr. Gupreet Singh Josan


Punjabi University accredited with NAAC ‘A’ Grade is one of the premier Institutions of Higher Education in the Northern region. The University primarily offers Post-Graduate and Under-Graduate Programmes in diverse areas of academics and research. The Department of Computer Science, established in 1987, offers post-graduate degree courses of Ph.D., M.Phil(CS), M. Tech. (Computer Science and Engineering), M.Tech.(CSE) (Part Time) and MCA. The core research areas of the Department are Digital Image Processing, Multilingual Processing and Computer Networks. The Department is actively involved in research and software development since its establishment and has been recognized by UGC under SAP I and II and also by DST-FIST Level I.

After the successful organization of one week national workshop on DIP using
Matlab during 2012, In 2013, we are organizing a One week National workshop on “Multilingual Technologies” from 11th November to 17th November, 2013 at Punjabi University, Patiala. The workshop will include invited talks from eminent personalities in the field of Multilingual Technologies. In addition, this workshop will also benefit the participants in API score as per UGC guidelines. The following key speakers have given their consent to share their knowledge and experience during the workshop:

  1. Dr. A. G. Ramakrishnan, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
  2. Dr. Amba Kulkarni, University of Hyderabad
  3. Dr. B.B Chaudhuri, ISI Kolkata
  4. Dr. Deepti Misra Sharma, IIIT Hyderabad
  5. Dr. Girish Nath Jha, JNU, New Delhi
  6. Dr. Kamlesh Dutta, NIT, Hamirpur
  7. Dr. M. D. Kulkarni, CDAC, Pune
  8. Dr. Manish Jindal, Panjab University, Chandigarh
  9. Dr. Manoj Sachaan, SLIET, Longowal, Sangrur
  10. Dr. Niladri Chatterjee, IIT Delhi
  11. Dr. Parminder Singh, GNE, Ludhiana
  12. Dr. Parteek Bhatia, Thapar University, Patiala
  13. Dr. R.K. Sharma, Thapar University, Patiala
  14. Dr. R.M.K Sinha, IIT Kanpur
  15. Dr. Renu Dhir, NIT, Jalandhar
  16. Dr. Santanu Chaudhury, IIT Delhi
  17. Dr. Utpal Garain, ISI, Kolkata
  18. Dr. Vishal Gupta, Panjab University, Chandigarh

In addition to above speakers, the Department internal faculty working in this research area (Prof. Gurpreet Singh Lehal, Dr. Dharam Veer Sharma, Dr. Vishal Goyal, Dr. Gurpreet Singh Josan, Dr. Tejinder Saini, Mr. Ajit Kumar) will also be delivering the talks during the workshop.

A short tutorial on multilingual TTS, multilingual OCR, Online Handwritten recognition system for Indian languages by Dr. A. G. Ramakrishnan, IISc Banglore
The fee should be submitted, along with the filled registration form through Bank Draft drawn in favor of “NWMLT 2013”.
On persistent demand from participants, early bird registration date shifted to 25th October, 2013